eso ha pasado un 08 Junio

1637 : Descartes published his Discourse on Method

On 6 June 1637, the philosopher and mathematician Rene Descartes published his Discourse on Method in Leiden, Holland. He gave rules for acquiring knowledge: the rule of doubt, the rule of analysis, the rule of synthesis and the rule of deduction. One formula remained particularly famous: I think therefore I am.
This speech and these fine words always have a great reputation today, particularly in French National Education which has tried to instill the understanding of these principles to generations of students.

1966 : Tornado in Topeka

On June 6, 1966 F5 tornado struck the city of Topeka, Kansas. 16 people were killed and thousands of homes were destroyed.

1967 : Israel attacked the U.S.

On June 6, 1967, during the 6 Day War, Israel bombed the USS Liberty in Egyptian waters of the Gaza Strip. 34 Americans were killed during the two-hour raid.
Israel apologized by saying they thought attacking an Egyptian ship.
In fact, they needed to cut the listening devices of the ship in order to attack the Golan Heights in Syria the next day without anyone's knowledge.

1972 : The Terror of War

On 6 June 1972, the Associated Press photographer Nick Ut, took a photo of a little girl, Phan Thi Kim Phuc, screaming and running naked to escape a napalm attack by South Vietnamese forces during the Vietnam War. This photo was one of the most striking images of the twentieth century and won the Pulitzer Prize under the name of the Terror of War. After taking the picture, Ut took the little girl with other burned children to a hospital in Saigon where Kim stayed 14 months.

2001 : Second term for Tony Blair

On June 8, 2001, Tony Blair began his second term at 10 Downing Street after the Labor Party has largely won the parliamentary elections.

Cita del día : 08 Junio

Rene Descartes
Nothing is more fairly distributed than common sense: no one thinks he needs more of it than he already has.

Cumpleaños : 08 Junio

Tomaso Albinoni, Compositor italiano (1671)
Alessandro Cagliostro, Aventurero italiano (1743)
Robert Schumann, Compositor alemán (1810)
George Charles Haité, Ilustrador Inglés (1855)
Frank Lloyd Wright, Arquitecto estadounidense (1867)
Gaby Morlay, Actriz francesa (1893)
Marguerite Yourcenar, Escritora francesa (1903)
Francis Crick, Biólogo molecular inglés, Premio Nobel de Fisiología o Medicina (1916)
Luigi Comencini, Director de cine italiano (1916)
Robert Preston, Actor americano (1918)
Suharto, Segundo presidente de Indonesia (1921)
Philippe Castelli, Actor francés (1926)
Kenneth G. Wilson, Físico americano, Premio Nobel (1936)
Nancy Sinatra, Cantante estadounidense (1940)
Eric F. Wieschaus, Biólogo estadounidense, Premio Nobel (1947)
Emanuel Ax, Pianista estadounidense (1949)
Bonnie Tyler, Cantante galesa (1951)
Tim Berners-Lee, Físico británico, inventor de la World Wide Web (1955)
Valérie Mairesse, Actriz francesa (1955)
Scott Adams, Dibujante estadounidense (Dilbert) (1957)
Mick Hucknall, Músico inglés (Simply Red) (1960)
Agnès Soral, Actriz francesa (1960)
Nick Rhodes, Músico inglés (Duran Duran) (1962)
Butch Reynolds, Atleta estadounidense (1964)
Julianna Margulies, Actriz americana (1966)
J. P. Manoux, Actor americano (1969)
Kelli Williams, Actriz americana (1970)
Mark Feuerstein, Actor americano (1971)
Shilpa Shetty, Actriz india (1975)
Lindsay Davenport, Jugadora de tenis americana (1976)
Kanye West, Rapper americano (1977)
Sara Watkins, Cantante y violinista estadounidense (1981)
Dickson Etuhu, Futbolista de Nigeria (1982)
Kim Clijsters, Jugadora de tenis belga (1983)

Nos han dejado un 08 Junio

Mahomet, Profeta del Islam (632)
Thomas Paine, Revolucionario americano (1809)
Andrew Jackson, séptimo presidente de los Estados Unidos (1845)
Cochise, Líder Apache (1874)
George Sand, Escritora francesa (1876)
Jules Simon, Filósofo francés (1896)
Andrew Irvine, Alpinista inglés (1924)
George Mallory, Alpinista inglés (1924)
Robert Desnos, Poeta francese (1945)
Robert Taylor, Actor americano (1969)
Johnny Palermo, Actor americano (2009)
Omar Bongo, Presidente de Gabón (1967 - 2009) (2009)
Otras fechas
Vue mer : crédit photo Aseed